The Golf Rules Samaritan
Dedicated to Rules of Golf education since 2020
Home » TGRS Sample Quiz (50 Questions)
TGRS Free Sample Quiz
This is a sample quiz for anyone interested in becoming a member of the Golf Rules Samaritan group. The quiz features a selection of questions from the range of 100+ quizzes on the site. Feel free to take a look and have a go!
Please Enter Your Details Below - This Will Enable the System to Display an Audit of Your Quiz Results.
View R&A: Definition: wrong green View USGA Definition: wrong green
1 / 50
1. Wrong greens are part of the general area?
View R&A: Definition: relief area View USGA Definition: relief area
2 / 50
2. With back-on-the-line relief, the player must drop on the line in a location allowed by the Rule being used and the spot where the ball first touches the ground when dropped creates a relief area that is two club-lengths in any direction from that point?
The True statement in the Definition is:
With back-on-the-line relief, the player must drop on the line in a location allowed by the Rule being used and the spot where the ball first touches the ground when dropped creates a relief area that is one club-length in any direction from that point View R&A: Definition: relief area View USGA Definition: relief area
View R&A Clarification: moved/2 View R&A: Definition: wrong green View R&A: Definition: penalty area View R&A: Definition: foursomes View USGA: Clarification moved/2 View USGA Definition: wrong green View USGA Definition: penalty area View USGA Definition: foursomes
3 / 50
3. According to the Definitions & Related Clarifications; Which One of these 4 statements is incorrect?
The INCORRECT Statement is: B (A:) Correct: See Definition: Moved/2 (B:) Incorrect: See Definition: Wrong Green - The Correct Statement is: "A Wrong green includes practice greens for pitching, unless the Committee excludes them by Local Rule" (C:) Correct: See Definition: Penalty Area (D:) Correct: See Definition: Foursomes View R&A Clarification: moved/2 View R&A: Definition: wrong green View R&A: Definition: penalty area View R&A: Definition: foursomes View USGA: Clarification moved/2 View USGA Definition: wrong green View USGA Definition: penalty area View USGA Definition: foursomes
View R&A Clarification: holed/1 View R&A: Definition: substitute View R&A: Definition: side View R&A: Definition: caddie View USGA: Clarification holed/1 View USGA Definition: substitute View USGA Definition: side View USGA Definition: caddie
4 / 50
4. According to the Definitions & Related Clarifications; Which One of these 4 statements is incorrect?
The INCORRECT Statement is: D (A:) Correct: See Definition: Holed/1 (B:) Correct: See Definition: Substitute (C:) Correct: See Definition: Caddie (D:) Incorrect: See Definition: Side - The Correct Statement is: "A side is not the same as a team. In a team competition, each team consists of players competing as individuals or as sides" View R&A Clarification: holed/1 View R&A: Definition: substitute View R&A: Definition: side View R&A: Definition: caddie View USGA: Clarification holed/1 View USGA Definition: substitute View USGA Definition: side View USGA Definition: caddie
View R&A Clarification: 19.2/5 View R&A Rule: 19.2 View USGA Clarification: 19.2/5 View USGA: Rule 19.2
5 / 50
5. In stroke play, a player finds a stray ball in a bad lie. Mistaking it for his or her ball, the player decides to take lateral relief (Rule 19.2c), substitutes a ball and plays it. Which of the following is correct?
View R&A Clarification: 9.6/4 View R&A Rule: 9.6 View USGA Clarification: 9.6/4 View USGA: Rule 9.6
6 / 50
6. If a player discovers, after playing his or her ball, that it had been moved onto the course by an outside influence after the ball had come to rest out of bounds, the player has played a wrong ball. Because it was not known or virtually certain before the ball was played, the player does not get a penalty for playing a wrong ball. In stroke play, which of the following is false?
View R&A Rule: 23.5a View R&A Rule: 17.1d(3) in Range: 17.1d(1) - (3) View R&A Rules: 14.3c(1) - (2) View R&A Rules: 14.3b(1) - (4) View R&A Rule: 14.3a View R&A Rule: 14.2e View R&A Rule: 14.2a View USGA: Rule 23.5a View USGA: Rule 17.1d(3) in Range: 17.1d(1) - (3) View USGA Rules: 14.3c(1) - (2) View USGA Rules: 14.3b(1) - (4) View USGA: Rule 14.3a View USGA: Rule 14.2e View USGA: Rule 14.2a
7 / 50
7. In a Four-Ball stroke play event, Player A who has Caddie A & Player B who has Caddie B are a side. On the 4th hole Player B's stroke is found in a red penalty area. Player B announces the ball is unplayable and they will take penalty area relief. Player B drops a ball within 2 club-lengths of the reference point where the ball last crossed into the penalty area but it comes to rest outside the relief area. Player A then drops the ball for a 2nd time, it also lands in the relief area but comes to rest outside the relief area. Player B then places another ball on the spot the 2nd drop touched the ground in the relief area. The ball does not stay at rest so Player A tries to replace it on the same spot, but again it doesn't stay at rest. Player B places another ball on the same spot again where it does now stay at rest and Player B proceeds to play their next stroke.
How Many Penalty Strokes to Side A-B Apply?
View R&A Rule: 23.9b(1) in Range: 23.9b(1) - (3) View R&A Rule: 23.7 View R&A Rule: 4.1c(1) in Range: 4.1c(1) - (2) View R&A Rule: 4.1b(4) in Range: 4.1b(1) - (4) View USGA: Rule 23.9b(1) in Range: 23.9b(1) - (3) View USGA: Rule 23.7 View USGA: Rule 4.1c(1) in Range: 4.1c(1) - (2) View USGA: Rule 4.1b(4) in Range: 4.1b(1) - (4)
8 / 50
8. In a Four-Ball stroke play event, Player A who has Caddie A & Player B who has Caddie B are a side. The side share 14 clubs. 7 are carried by Caddie A & 7 are carried by Caddie B. On the 5th fairway Player A discovers his Caddie is actually carrying 8 Clubs. They complete the hole and inform their partner of this at the 6th tee and they confirm Caddie B has 7 Clubs so they take a club out of play.
View R&A Rule: 22.2 View R&A Rule: 17.1d(3) in Range: 17.1d(1) - (3) View R&A Rules: 14.3c(1) - (2) View R&A Rules: 14.3b(1) - (4) View R&A Rule: 14.3a View R&A Rules: 14.2b(1) - (2) View USGA: Rule 22.2 View USGA: Rule 17.1d(3) in Range: 17.1d(1) - (3) View USGA Rules: 14.3c(1) - (2) View USGA Rules: 14.3b(1) - (4) View USGA: Rule 14.3a View USGA Rules: 14.2b(1) - (2)
9 / 50
9. In a Foursomes stroke play event, Player A who has Caddie A & Player B who has Caddie B are a side. On the 4th hole Player B's stroke is found in a red penalty area. Player B announces the ball is unplayable and they will take penalty area relief. Player B drops a ball within 2 club-lengths of the reference point where the ball last crossed into the penalty area but it comes to rest outside the relief area. Player A then drops the ball for a 2nd time, it also lands in the relief area but comes to rest outside the relief area. Player B then places another ball on the spot the 2nd drop touched the ground in the relief area and Player A proceeds to play the next stroke.
View R&A Rule: 22.2 View R&A Rule: 14.2b(1) in Range: 14.2b(1) - (2) View R&A Rule: 14.1b View R&A Rule: 10.3b(1) in Range: 10.3b(1) - (3) View USGA: Rule 22.2 View USGA: Rule 14.2b(1) in Range: 14.2b(1) - (2) View USGA: Rule 14.1b View USGA: Rule 10.3b(1) in Range: 10.3b(1) - (3)
10 / 50
10. In a Foursomes stroke play event, Player A who has Caddie A & Player B who has Caddie B are a side. On the 4th hole Player A marks and lifts the ball from the putting green. Player B , whose turn it is to play, replaces the ball and proceeds to play their next stroke.
View R&A Rule: 13.2a(4) in Range: 13.2a(1) - (4) View USGA: Rule 13.2a(4) in Range: 13.2a(1) - (4)
11 / 50
11. In stroke play, a player chooses to putt with the Flagstick unattended left in the hole. They putt and whilst their ball is in motion, to prevent the ball hitting the Flagstick, another player removes it from the hole.
What Penalty to the Other Player Applies?
View R&A Rule: 14.7b(1) in Range: 14.7b(1) - (3) View R&A Rule: 11.1b(1) in Range: 11.1b(1) - (2) View USGA: Rule 14.7b(1) in Range: 14.7b(1) - (3) View USGA: Rule 11.1b(1) in Range: 11.1b(1) - (2)
12 / 50
12. In stroke play, a player's tee stroke lands in a buggy which is moving about 200 yards off the tee in the 2nd cut of fairway. The driver is unaware that a ball has landed in the rear of the buggy and drives 75 yards closer to the hole. The player follows the buggy to where it is now parked and estimates the point directly below the buggy as the reference point for taking relief, they drop the ball correctly in the relief area and play their next stroke.
How Many Penalty Strokes Apply?
View R&A Rule: 5.6a View USGA: Rule 5.6a
13 / 50
13. A player arrives at the start point for their round in a stroke play competition 4 minutes later than the starting time assigned by the committee. How Many Penalty Strokes Apply?
View R&A Rule: 3.2c(1) in Range: 3.2c(1) - (2) View USGA: Rule 3.2c(1) in Range: 3.2c(1) - (2)
14 / 50
14. A player declares a higher handicap which affects the number of strokes the player gets before the match and does not correct the mistake before the opponent makes their first stroke. How Many Penalty Strokes Apply?
View R&A Rule: 9.4b View USGA: Rule 9.4b
15 / 50
15. A player accidentally moves their ball when taking a swing to determine whether relief is available from an abnormal course condition. As relief is permitted they proceed to drop under 16.1b using the spot the ball was originally at rest to determine the nearest point of complete relief. How Many Penalty Strokes Apply?
View R&A Rule: 13.2b(1) in Range: 13.2b(1) - (2) View USGA: Rule 13.2b(1) in Range: 13.2b(1) - (2)
16 / 50
16. In stroke play, a player has a 30 foot putt on the 4th green and they can clearly see the flagstick is in the hole and another player is standing close by it. Without saying anything, the player proceeds to putt and his ball strikes the flagstick. How Many Penalty Strokes Apply?
View R&A Clarification: nearest point of complete relief/4 View R&A Rule: 17.2a(1) in Range: 17.2a(1) - (2) View R&A Rule: 17.1d(2) in Range: 17.1d(1) - (3) View R&A Rule: 16.1d View USGA: Clarification nearest point of complete relief/4 View USGA: Rule 17.2a(1) in Range: 17.2a(1) - (2) View USGA: Rule 17.1d(2) in Range: 17.1d(1) - (3) View USGA: Rule 16.1d
17 / 50
17. In Which of the Following Scenarios does a Penalty Apply?
The CORRECT Statement is: B (A:) Incorrect: The Penalty is: No Penalty Applies - See Rule Citation(s): 16.1d (B:) Correct: The Penalty is: 1 Penalty Stroke Applies - See Rule Citation(s): 17.2a(1) & 17.1d(2) (C:) Incorrect: The Penalty is: No Penalty Applies - See Rule Citation(s): 16.1d (D:) Incorrect: The Penalty is: No Penalty Applies - See Rule Citation(s): 16.1d
View R&A: Definition: no play zone View R&A Rule: 17.2a(1) in Range: 17.2a(1) - (2) View R&A Rule: 17.1d(2) in Range: 17.1d(1) - (3) View R&A Rule: 16.1f(1) in Range: 16.1f(1) - (2) View R&A Rule: 16.1d View USGA Definition: no play zone View USGA: Rule 17.2a(1) in Range: 17.2a(1) - (2) View USGA: Rule 17.1d(2) in Range: 17.1d(1) - (3) View USGA: Rule 16.1f(1) in Range: 16.1f(1) - (2) View USGA: Rule 16.1d
18 / 50
18. In Which of the Following Scenarios does a Penalty Apply?
The CORRECT Statement is: D (A:) Incorrect: The Penalty is: No Penalty Applies - See Rule Citation(s): 16.1f(1) & 16.1d (B:) Incorrect: The Penalty is: No Penalty Applies - See Rule Citation(s): 16.1f(1) & 16.1d (C:) Incorrect: The Penalty is: No Penalty Applies - See Rule Citation(s): 16.1f(1) & 16.1d (D:) Correct: The Penalty is: 1 Penalty Stroke Applies - See Rule Citation(s): 17.2a(1) & 17.1d(2)
View R&A Rule: 25.2 View R&A Rule: 17.1d(3) in Range: 17.1d(1) - (3) View R&A Rules: 14.3c(1) - (2) View R&A Rules: 14.3b(1) - (4) View R&A Rule: 14.3a View R&A Rule: 14.2b(2) in Range: 14.2b(1) - (2) View R&A Rule: 3.3b(4) in Range: 3.3b(1) - (4) View USGA: Rule 25.2 View USGA: Rule 17.1d(3) in Range: 17.1d(1) - (3) View USGA Rules: 14.3c(1) - (2) View USGA Rules: 14.3b(1) - (4) View USGA: Rule 14.3a View USGA: Rule 14.2b(2) in Range: 14.2b(1) - (2) View USGA: Rule 3.3b(4) in Range: 3.3b(1) - (4)
19 / 50
19. In Which of the Following Scenarios does the Player NOT get 1 Penalty Stroke?
The CORRECT Statement is: C (A:) Incorrect: The Penalty is: 1 Penalty Stroke Applies - See Rule Citation(s): 25.2 & 14.3a & 14.3b(1) & 14.3b(2) & 14.3b(3) & 14.3b(4) & 14.3c(1) & 14.3c(2) & 17.1d(3) (B:) Incorrect: The Penalty is: 1 Penalty Stroke Applies - See Rule Citation(s): 25.2 & 14.3a & 14.3b(1) & 14.3b(2) & 14.3b(3) & 14.3b(4) & 14.3c(1) & 14.3c(2) & 14.2b(2) & 17.1d(3) (C:) Correct: The Penalty is: No Penalty Applies - See Rule Citation(s): 3.3b(4) (D:) Incorrect: The Penalty is: 1 Penalty Stroke Applies - See Rule Citation(s): 25.2 & 14.3a & 14.3b(1) & 14.3b(2) & 14.3b(3) & 14.3b(4) & 14.3c(1) & 14.3c(2) & 14.2b(2) & 17.1d(3)
View R&A Rule: 19.3a View R&A Rule: 19.2c View R&A Rule: 19.2b View R&A Rule: 19.2a View R&A Rule: 14.6a View R&A Rule: 3.3b(4) in Range: 3.3b(1) - (4) View USGA: Rule 19.3a View USGA: Rule 19.2c View USGA: Rule 19.2b View USGA: Rule 19.2a View USGA: Rule 14.6a View USGA: Rule 3.3b(4) in Range: 3.3b(1) - (4)
20 / 50
20. In Which of the Following Scenarios does the Player NOT get 1 Penalty Stroke?
The CORRECT Statement is: A (A:) Correct: The Penalty is: No Penalty Applies - See Rule Citation(s): 3.3b(4) (B:) Incorrect: The Penalty is: 1 Penalty Stroke Applies - See Rule Citation(s): 19.3a & 19.2b (C:) Incorrect: The Penalty is: 1 Penalty Stroke Applies - See Rule Citation(s): 19.2c (D:) Incorrect: The Penalty is: 1 Penalty Stroke Applies - See Rule Citation(s): 19.3a & 19.2a & 14.6a
View R&A Clarification: 17.2b/1 View R&A Rule: 17.2b View R&A Rule: 17.1d(3) in Range: 17.1d(1) - (3) View R&A Rule: 5.2b View USGA Clarification: 17.2b/1 View USGA: Rule 17.2b View USGA: Rule 17.1d(3) in Range: 17.1d(1) - (3) View USGA: Rule 5.2b
21 / 50
21. In Which of the Following Scenarios does the Player NOT get 2 Penalty Strokes?
The CORRECT Statement is: C (A:) Incorrect: The Penalty is: 2 Penalty Strokes Apply - See Rule Citation(s): 17.2b & 17.1d(1) (B:) Incorrect: The Penalty is: 2 Penalty Strokes Apply - See Rule Citation(s): 17.2b & 17.1d(2) (C:) Correct: The Penalty is: No Penalty Applies - See Rule Citation(s): 5.2b (D:) Incorrect: The Penalty is: 2 Penalty Strokes Apply - See Rule Citation(s): 17.2b & 17.1d(3)
View R&A Rule: 18.1 View R&A Rule: 17.2b View R&A Rule: 17.2a(1) in Range: 17.2a(1) - (2) View R&A Rule: 17.1d(3) in Range: 17.1d(1) - (3) View R&A Rule: 14.7a View R&A Rule: 4.3a(6) in Range: 4.3a(1) - (6) View USGA: Rule 18.1 View USGA: Rule 17.2b View USGA: Rule 17.2a(1) in Range: 17.2a(1) - (2) View USGA: Rule 17.1d(3) in Range: 17.1d(1) - (3) View USGA: Rule 14.7a View USGA: Rule 4.3a(6) in Range: 4.3a(1) - (6)
22 / 50
22. In Which of the Following Scenarios does the Player NOT get 2 Penalty Strokes?
The CORRECT Statement is: A (A:) Correct: The Penalty is: No Penalty Applies - See Rule Citation(s): 4.3a(6) (B:) Incorrect: The Penalty is: 2 Penalty Strokes Apply - See Rule Citation(s): 17.2a & 17.2a(1) & 14.7a & 17.1d(1) & 17.1d(3) & 18.1 (C:) Incorrect: The Penalty is: 2 Penalty Strokes Apply - See Rule Citation(s): 17.2b & 17.1d(1) & 17.1d(2) (D:) Incorrect: The Penalty is: 2 Penalty Strokes Apply - See Rule Citation(s): 17.2b & 17.1d(1) & 17.1d(3)
View R&A Rule: 4.1c(1) in Range: 4.1c(1) - (2) View R&A Rule: 3.2c(1) in Range: 3.2c(1) - (2) View R&A Rule: 3.2b(1) in Range: 3.2b(1) - (2) View R&A Rule: 1.3b(1) in Range: 1.3b(1) - (2) View USGA: Rule 4.1c(1) in Range: 4.1c(1) - (2) View USGA: Rule 3.2c(1) in Range: 3.2c(1) - (2) View USGA: Rule 3.2b(1) in Range: 3.2b(1) - (2) View USGA: Rule 1.3b(1) in Range: 1.3b(1) - (2)
23 / 50
23. In Which of the Following Scenarios does the Player NOT get Disqualified?
The CORRECT Statement is: D (A:) Incorrect: The Penalty is: The Player is Disqualified - See Rule Citation(s): 1.3b(1) (B:) Incorrect: The Penalty is: The Player is Disqualified - See Rule Citation(s): 3.2b(1) (C:) Incorrect: The Penalty is: The Player is Disqualified - See Rule Citation(s): 3.2c(1) (D:) Correct: The Penalty is: 2 Penalty Strokes Apply - See Rule Citation(s): 4.1c(1)
View R&A Rule: 14.7b(1) in Range: 14.7b(1) - (3) View R&A Rule: 5.2b View R&A Rule: 4.2b View R&A Rule: 4.1c(1) in Range: 4.1c(1) - (2) View R&A Rule: 4.1b(4) in Range: 4.1b(1) - (4) View R&A Rule: 1.3c(4) in Range: 1.3c(1) - (4) View USGA: Rule 14.7b(1) in Range: 14.7b(1) - (3) View USGA: Rule 5.2b View USGA: Rule 4.2b View USGA: Rule 4.1c(1) in Range: 4.1c(1) - (2) View USGA: Rule 4.1b(4) in Range: 4.1b(1) - (4) View USGA: Rule 1.3c(4) in Range: 1.3c(1) - (4)
24 / 50
24. In Which of the Following Scenarios does the Player NOT get Disqualified?
The CORRECT Statement is: B (A:) Incorrect: The Penalty is: The Player is Disqualified - See Rule Citation(s): 4.1b(1) & 4.1c(1) (B:) Correct: The Penalty is: 2 Penalty Strokes Apply - See Rule Citation(s): 5.2b (C:) Incorrect: The Penalty is: The Player is Disqualified - See Rule Citation(s): 4.1b(1) & 4.1b(4) & 4.1c(1) & 1.3c(4) (D:) Incorrect: The Penalty is: The Player is Disqualified - See Rule Citation(s): 4.2b & 14.7b(1)
View R&A: Definition: teeing area View USGA Definition: teeing area
25 / 50
25. Which One of these 4 Statements for the Definition 'Teeing Area' is Incorrect?
The INCORRECT Statement is: A (A:) Incorrect: See Definition: Teeing Area - The Correct Statement is: "The teeing area's side edges are defined by the lines back from the outside points of the tee-markers" (B:) Correct: See Definition: Teeing Area (C:) Correct: See Definition: Teeing Area (D:) Correct: See Definition: Teeing Area teeing area View R&A: Definition: teeing area
View R&A: Definition: replace View USGA Definition: replace
26 / 50
26. Which One of these 4 Statements for the Definition 'Replace' is Incorrect?
The INCORRECT Statement is: A (A:) Incorrect: See Definition: Replace - The Correct Statement is: "To Replace a ball, a player is required to place a ball by setting it down by hand and letting it go, with the intent for it to be in play" (B:) Correct: See Definition: Replace (C:) Correct: See Definition: Replace (D:) Correct: See Definition: Replace replace View R&A: Definition: replace
View R&A Rule: 1.3c(2) in Range: 1.3c(1) - (4) View USGA: Rule 1.3c(2) in Range: 1.3c(1) - (4)
27 / 50
27. In a play-off in a stroke-play competition If a player is disqualified (such as for making a stroke with a non-conforming club), the player is disqualified from the play-off only and the player is not entitled to any prize that may have been won in the competition itself?
View R&A Rule: 23.2b(2) in Range: 23.2b(1) - (2) View USGA: Rule 23.2b(2) in Range: 23.2b(1) - (2)
28 / 50
28. In a Four-Ball Stroke Play competition (with no local rule in effect), if Fraz & Pete declare the wrong handicaps on their scorecard they are disqualified?
View R&A: Definition: replace View R&A Rule: 14.2b(2) in Range: 14.2b(1) - (2) View R&A Rule: 14.2a View R&A Rule: 9.6 View USGA Definition: replace View USGA: Rule 14.2b(2) in Range: 14.2b(1) - (2) View USGA: Rule 14.2a View USGA: Rule 9.6
29 / 50
29. Player A’s tee shot lands in the fairway. As Player A walks toward the ball, a goose comes across the fairway and picks up and swallows Player A’s ball. How must Player A proceed?
View R&A Rule: 13.1d(2) in Range: 13.1d(1) - (2) View R&A Rule: 9.3 View USGA: Rule 13.1d(2) in Range: 13.1d(1) - (2) View USGA: Rule 9.3
30 / 50
30. Player A’s ball on the putting green has been marked, lifted, and replaced. As Player A is awaiting his or her turn to play, a gust of wind causes the ball to move and come to rest in the hole. As the Rules Official in charge how would you rule?
View R&A Rules: 4.3a(1) - (6) View USGA Rules: 4.3a(1) - (6)
31 / 50
31. Which is correct regarding the use of a non-calculating electronic device?
View R&A Rule: 15.1a View USGA: Rule 15.1a
32 / 50
32. Which is correct regarding loose impediments?
View R&A Rule: 11.2b View USGA: Rule 11.2b
33 / 50
33. On the putting green, Pete, another player in Allan's group over hits his putt and it runs down a steep bank towards a bunker. Allan sticks a foot out and stops the ball. How Many Penalty Strokes Apply and What is the Governing Rule?
View R&A Rules: 15.2a(1) - (3) View USGA Rules: 15.2a(1) - (3)
34 / 50
34. On the fairway Allan's drive has come to rest against a bunker rake. He removes the rake and it causes his ball to move. How Many Penalty Strokes Apply and What is the Governing Rule?
View R&A Rule: 12.2 View USGA: Rule 12.2
35 / 50
35. Whilst the round is suspended a player tests the surface of the sand in a greenside bunker in which his ball is at rest. Which rule governs the outcome?
View R&A Rule: 11.2 View USGA: Rule 11.2
36 / 50
36. Whilst the player's ball is in motion the player's caddie places his bag to prevent the ball from going out of bounds. The ball misses the bag and comes to rest on the course. Which rule governs the outcome?
37 / 50
37. In a play-off in a stroke-play competition If two players are in the play-off, none of the players may concede the play-off to the other player?
View R&A Rule: 6.4b(1) in Range: 6.4b(1) - (2) View USGA: Rule 6.4b(1) in Range: 6.4b(1) - (2)
38 / 50
38. If two or more players agree to play out of turn to give one of them an advantage and one of them plays out of turn with the agreement in place, they are both disqualified if they are unaware this agreement is not allowed?
View R&A Rule: 4.1b(1) in Range: 4.1b(1) - (4) View R&A Rule: 4.1a(3) in Range: 4.1a(1) - (3) View USGA: Rule 4.1b(1) in Range: 4.1b(1) - (4) View USGA: Rule 4.1a(3) in Range: 4.1a(1) - (3)
39 / 50
39. Which of the following is correct regarding the player's clubs?
View R&A: Definition: movable obstruction View USGA Definition: movable obstruction
40 / 50
40. Which of the following concerning an abandoned ball is true?
View R&A Clarification: 8.3/1 View USGA Clarification: 8.3/1
41 / 50
41. In which of the following are both player A and B penalized?
View R&A Clarification: 8.2b/1 View USGA Clarification: 8.2b/1
42 / 50
42. A player's ball lies at the top of a steep hill and, because the player is concerned that the wind might blow the ball down the hill away from the hole before he or she is able to play it, the player deliberately presses down the grass at the bottom of the hill in case the ball might come to rest there. What penalty applies?
43 / 50
43. Which of the following statements is true in terms of Greensomes?
Committee Procedure: 9B
44 / 50
44. Which of the following statements is true in terms of aeration holes?
Committee Procedure: 8E(4)
View R&A Rule: 19.3b View R&A Rule: 19.2b View R&A Rule: 14.7a View R&A Rule: 9.4b View R&A Rule: 1.3c(4) in Range: 1.3c(1) - (4) View USGA: Rule 19.3b View USGA: Rule 19.2b View USGA: Rule 14.7a View USGA: Rule 9.4b View USGA: Rule 1.3c(4) in Range: 1.3c(1) - (4)
45 / 50
45. Your tee shot on a par-3 just carries a yellow penalty area and comes to rest in a greenside bunker. You treat the ball as unplayable and take back-on-the-line relief outside the bunker in a narrow strip of land between the bunker and the penalty area. Your chosen reference point on the line behind the bunker is a few inches in front of the penalty area. You drop a ball that lands on the yellow line and it rolls less than one club-length from the reference point, coming to rest inside the penalty area. You lift that ball to drop it again and this time it lands in the general area, rolls less than one club-length and comes to rest in the penalty area. You then lift the ball and place it on the spot in the general area where the ball landed on the second drop and play onto the putting green. At that point, another player questions your procedure and you consult a referee. What is the correct ruling?
Oh WOW! I hear you exclaim! Why? Ok, let me try to run you through this one and explain!
The player dropped the ball in the Penalty Area (we know that because the Definition of Penalty Area tells us the line is in the Penalty Area), and the ball came to rest within 1 club-length of the spot it first touched in the penalty area.
As the player was dropping under Rule 19.3b, which borrows the relief procedure from Rule 19.2b, we also know that they dropped the ball in accordance with the rules, as they permit the player to drop in "any area of the course".
Therefore, the relief procedure was complete, per Rule 14.3c and the ball was in play. But now the player, for some unknown reason, decides to pick the ball up and drop again, and again, the ball comes to rest inside the Penalty Area so the player places it where it struck the ground on the 2nd drop.
Oh my, what a pickle! How do treat this action?
As the player was not intending to execute relief under Rule 17.1d for a ball in the Penalty Area when they lifted and moved it, the rules treat this action as a breach of Rule 9.4, which required the player to replace the ball under penalty of 1 stroke, but they didn't, and subsequently they re-dropped, then placed the ball and ended up playing from the wrong place, which comes at a cost of 2 penalty strokes, but with a discount under Rule 1.3c(4) on top of the 2 penalty strokes applicable to taking unplayable ball relief under Rule 19.3b. In total they are penalised 4 strokes.
View R&A Rule: 15.1a View R&A Rule: 14.2c View R&A Rule: 7.4 View R&A Rule: 7.1a View USGA: Rule 15.1a View USGA: Rule 14.2c View USGA: Rule 7.4 View USGA: Rule 7.1a
46 / 50
46. After a brief search you find a ball that might be yours. The ball is resting against a pinecone that will make it difficult to play the shot and, if moved, could cause the ball to move. The pinecone obscures the spot on the ball where your identification mark would be. Rather than marking and lifting the ball to identify it, you move the pinecone out of the way. The ball moves and it turns out to be your ball. The ruling is?
The closing statement of Rule 7.1a advises: In trying to find and identify the ball, the player may remove loose impediments as allowed in Rule 15.1 and may remove movable obstructions as allowed in Rule 15.2. Rule 7.4 further advises: There is no penalty if the player’s ball is accidentally moved by the player, opponent or anyone else while trying to find or identify it.
If this happens, the ball must be replaced on its original spot (which if not known must be estimated) (see Rule 14.2c)
This was a pretty rule savvy player! The exception in Rule 15.1a does not apply to option 3 as the player was not lifting the ball 1st.
View R&A: Definition: natural forces View R&A Rule: 14.7a View R&A Rule: 13.1d(2) in Range: 13.1d(1) - (2) View R&A Rule: 9.3 View R&A Rules: 9.2b(1) - (2) View R&A Rule: 9.2a View R&A Rule: 9.2 View USGA Definition: natural forces View USGA: Rule 14.7a View USGA: Rule 13.1d(2) in Range: 13.1d(1) - (2) View USGA: Rule 9.3 View USGA Rules: 9.2b(1) - (2) View USGA: Rule 9.2a View USGA: Rule 9.2
47 / 50
47. Your second shot comes to rest on the putting green 20 feet from the hole. You mark the spot of your ball and lift, clean and replace it on the spot where it had come to rest. You do not lift your ball-marker. As you are 15 feet from your ball and reading your putt, the ball rolls two feet toward the hole. You see this, but go ahead and putt the ball from this new location. This putt rolls ten feet past the hole, and you then take two further putts to finish the hole. Your score for the hole is?
This was one of the key rule changes in 2019!!! Take a good long read at Rule 13.1d(2). Once you have marked and lifted a ball from the Putting Green you own that spot. If you replace your ball, regardless of whether your marker has been lifted or not, if the ball is moved by Natural Forces you MUST replace the ball on that spot you owned. In this scenario you failed to do that and are subsequently penalised 2 strokes for playing from a wrong place in breach of Rule 13.1d
View R&A: Definition: substitute View R&A: Definition: provisional ball View R&A: Definition: lost View R&A Rule: 18.3c(2) in Range: 18.3c(1) - (3) View R&A Rules: 18.2a(1) - (2) View R&A Rule: 14.7a View R&A Rule: 9.4b View R&A Rules: 6.3b(1) - (3) View R&A Rule: 5.7b(2) in Range: 5.7b(1) - (2) View USGA Definition: substitute View USGA Definition: provisional ball View USGA Definition: lost View USGA: Rule 18.3c(2) in Range: 18.3c(1) - (3) View USGA Rules: 18.2a(1) - (2) View USGA: Rule 14.7a View USGA: Rule 9.4b View USGA Rules: 6.3b(1) - (3) View USGA: Rule 5.7b(2) in Range: 5.7b(1) - (2)
48 / 50
48. Your tee shot heads toward some trees and you play a provisional ball. Unknown to you, your partner’s caddie – who was walking ahead of you, your partner, and your caddie – started searching for your original ball about two minutes before the three of you arrived. Just as you begin to search, play is suspended. You search for 2 more minutes and find your original ball in a playable position in the general area about 10 yards from your provisional ball that is in a similar playable position. You mark the spot of and lift the original ball and then pick up your provisional without marking its spot. When play resumes, you place a new ball on the spot from which your original was lifted and play from there. How many total penalty strokes do you get in stroke play, if any?
The 3 minute search clock starts as soon as you or your Caddie start searching for the ball. Your Caddie had already been searching for 2 minutes when you arrived on scene. You therefore, only had one remaining minute to find the ball. As soon as the 3 minute period ended your original ball In Play was "Lost" and became a "Wrong Ball". That means your Provisional Ball was now in Play, per 18.3c(2), and when you lifted it you were penalised under 9.4b!
As the position of the Provisional was known you are deemed to have incorrectly substituted a ball for the provisional and played from the wrong place, which would not be considered a serious breach considering the facts presented.
1PS - Moving a Ball at Rest (The Provisional as that was the ball in play when the original was Lost) + 2PS - (1PS for incorrectly substituting a ball for the provisional & 2PS for playing from a wrong place) Totalling 2PS per Rule 1.3c(4) as no intervening event took place. + 1PS - Stroke & Distance
Total 3PS
View R&A Rule: 16.1b View R&A Rule: 14.3c(2) in Range: 14.3c(1) - (2) View R&A Rule: 14.2e View USGA: Rule 16.1b View USGA: Rule 14.3c(2) in Range: 14.3c(1) - (2) View USGA: Rule 14.2e
49 / 50
49. Your ball comes to rest on a cart path in the general area. You decide to take relief under Rule 16.1b. You determine your nearest point of complete relief in the general area and drop your ball in the one club-length relief area. The relief area is closely mown and on a steep slope. The ball rolls and comes to rest outside of the relief area, so you drop a second time and the ball rolls and comes to rest outside of the relief area again. You twice attempt to place the ball on the spot where it first touched the course on the second drop, but it won’t stay at rest on that spot. You begin to search for the nearest place where it will stay at rest. In finding the nearest place where your ball will remain at rest when placed, on which one of the following locations are you allowed to place your ball?
Rule 16.1b tells us the ball must come to rest in the relief area and be free of interference from the condition that relief was taken.
When applying 14.2e to find a spot the ball will come to rest, we are essentially extending the procedure and must still find a spot to place the ball where there is no interference from the ACC. This excludes a separate area of GUR, as that is an entirely different entity! Having placed the ball in that new area of GUR the player was also entitled to execute a new relief.
View R&A Clarification: 1.3c/2 View R&A Rule: 1.3c(2) in Range: 1.3c(1) - (4) View USGA Clarification: 1.3c/2 View USGA: Rule 1.3c(2) in Range: 1.3c(1) - (4)
50 / 50
50. If a player is disqualified (such as for making a stroke with a non-conforming club), the player is disqualified from the play-off only and the player is entitled to any prize that may have been won in the competition itself?
See Clarification: 1.3c/2 During a play-off in a stroke-play competition the Rules are applied as follows: • If a player is disqualified (such as for making a stroke with a non-conforming club), the player is disqualified from the play-off only and the player is entitled to any prize that may have been won in the competition itself. • If two players are in the play-off, one player is allowed to concede the play-off to the other player. • If Player A mistakenly gives the wrong number of strokes to Player B and that mistake results in Player B lifting their ball (such as when Player B thinks they have lost the play-off to Player A), Player B is allowed to replace the ball without penalty and complete the hole. There is no penalty to Player A.
Your score is
The average score is 0%
Restart quiz Exit
Please Rate and/or Provide Feedback on this Quiz to Help TGRS Improve the Content.
You must log in to see your results.
There are no results yet.